How DUI Charges Affect CDL Holders?
Drunk driving is a serious criminal offense that is punishable by harsh penalties upon conviction, with good reason. Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) causes thousands of deaths and injuries each year in the U.S. Certain drivers may be subject to additional penalties if they are charged with drunk driving, including those who hold commercial driver’s licenses (CDLs). If you’re a commercial driver and you were arrested on suspicion of drunk driving, it’s imperative that you contact a DUI lawyer in Glen Burnie or Severn right away. A DUI lawyer can protect your legal rights and work toward improving the outcome of your case.
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) can suspend or disqualify your CDL for a number of reasons. It can be disqualified after a conviction of DUI charges. It may also be disqualified prior to conviction if the law enforcement officer allegedly determines that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was very high. You should be aware that your CDL can be disqualified if you refuse to submit to a chemical test of your BAC. When your CDL is suspended, you will receive a notice of disqualification. You must surrender your CDL to the MVA by the indicated date or you will risk having your period of suspension extended. Before you surrender your license, you should consult a DUI lawyer. He or she might recommend that you request an administrative hearing to fight the suspension.
Maryland criminal law allows for the revocation of a driver’s CDL for life under certain circumstances, including a second conviction of DUI. This can be devastating for individuals who rely on their ability to drive commercially in order to support their families. If you are facing DUI charges for the second time, you should contact a DUI lawyer immediately for legal guidance.
In addition to the suspension or revocation of your CDL, you will face criminal penalties if you are convicted of DUI. For a first offense, you could face up to one year in jail or up to two years in jail for a second conviction. A first-time DUI conviction can result in fines of up to $1,000 or up to $2,000 for a second conviction.
After a Car Accident
After a Car Accident
After a car accident, you’ll likely need the help of an experienced car accident attorney. A car wreck attorney can help you recover maximum compensation for your losses and protect you from liability. However, right after the accident, you’ll need to take immediate action to check yourself and your passengers for injuries, call for emergency responders, and provide the exact location of the accident. Your car accident attorney will also need you to collect critical information from the other driver.
Watch this short video to hear more about what information you should exchange with the other driver. This collision expert provides a basic overview of handling the aftermath of a crash, such as calling the insurance company and arranging for legal representation from a car accident lawyer near Severn.
What Is Whiplash?
What Is Whiplash?
If you have recently consulted a car accident attorney regarding a personal injury complaint, you may be suffering from whiplash. Whiplash is a very common injury sustained by car accident victims . It’s primarily characterized by pain in the neck region; however, it can also cause symptoms such as headaches and muscle spasms. Tell your Severn personal injury lawyer about all of the symptoms you experience. Additionally, your car accident attorney will need to know about your losses related to whiplash and other injuries you may have sustained. These might include medical bills, for example.
You can watch this video for more information about whiplash. This expert discusses which bodily structures whiplash affects in the neck, and explains why it can be challenging for a doctor to diagnose and treat the injury. You’ll also learn about some of the types of compensation your car wreck attorney may demand on your behalf.